INDIA To Win World Cup sign now

India Cricket Team Profile

The Indian Cricket Team is the official cricket team of India. Cricket is not just a game but a religion in India, with millions of Indian fans at home and abroad praying for the success of the Indian Cricket Team. The Indian Cricket Team is one of the strongest and most challenging cricket teams in the world, rated at par with teams like Australia, South Africa, England and Pakistan. The Indian cricket team is the highest paid (in terms of sponsorships) sports team in the world.

India has produced several outstanding cricketers of the world, who have become legends of the game itself. Among Indian cricketing legends include the names of players like Vijay Merchant, CK Naidu, Lala Amarnath, Erapalli Prasanna, Vinoo Mankad, Farokh Engineer, BS Chandrasekhar, Bishen Singh Bedi, Gundappa Viswanath, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Mohinder Amarnath, Mohammed Azharuddin, Anil Kumble, and the world's most popular living cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, who's also a part of the India's ICC World Cup 2007 squad.

The India Cricket Team has participated in all the ICC Cricket World Cups since 1975. India won the 1983 World Cup, beating the then World Champions West Indies in a low socring final match. The team reached to the World Cup semi-finals in 1987 and 1996, and were runners-up in the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup in South Africa. The India cricket team has been rated as one of the favorite contenders to lift the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 in the West Indies. India is placed in Group B of the ICC World Cup 2007 groupings, along with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Bermuda. The team will start its World Cup 2007 campaign against Bangladesh on March 17, 2007 in Trinidad and Tobago.

India World Cup Squad

Runners-up of Cricket World Cup 2003, Team India are keen on grabbing the title this time around. The Indian World Cup squad is made up of big names, all of whom have been doing fairly well in the ongoing cricket season.

Led by The Wall Rahul Dravid, the Men in Blue are a bunch of zestful cricketers, willing to give in their heart and soul to the game of cricket. Dravid, with his inimitable batting and sagacious captaincy, has proven to be a good leader.

The Little Master, Sachin Tendulkar, has been slotted as vice-captain of Indian World Cup squad. Apart from power-packed batting, his repertoire of delightful spinners will come in handy on West Indies sluggish pitches.

Ex-captain Sourav Ganguly made a comeback after the controversy involving coach Greg Chappell, and a hiatus of ten months. He has been doing well in 2007 and will make good use of his off-side strokeplay in West Indies during the World Cup.

Among the bowlers, Anil Kumble is the senior-most in Indian World Cup squad. He did not get a chance to bowl in the last World Cup despite being selected in the final 15. Kumble is now eager to come back with a bang in this quadrennial event. He will be assisted by the wily Harbhajan Singh in the spin department. Singh will also be keen to regain lost form in this tournament.

Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, S. Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar and Munaf Patel will vie for top honors in the pace department of Indian World Cup squad. Openers Robin Uthappa and Virender Sehwag will also have a tough time outwitting each other.

The two wicketkeepers in India World Cup squad are Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik. The former is likely to have an edge because of his specialization as a pinch-hitter. Yuvraj Singh is the only certified all-rounder in the Indian team for World Cup 2007. Nonetheless, Pathan, Sehwag, Ganguly and Tendulkar are also known to contribute with the ball.

All in all, the India World Cup squad is deadly enough to give the best teams in the event a run for their money.

Key Players in Indian Team

With an average 2006 behind them, and a fairly good beginning in 2007, Team India is set to join the bandwagon of teams vying for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007. The key players in Indian team will be a combination of the experienced and the hot blooded.

Almost all players in the India World Cup 2007 squad have had a taste of this premier quadrennial event. Thus, all of them are well prepared to handle the pressure associated with an event of such magnitude.

As in the case of all other teams in ICC Cricket World Cup 2007, Team India also comprises the best of players, poured in from different corners of the country and groomed for this day for over two years now.

The key players in Indian team have been an integral part of the teams victories and losses in the recent past. They are the ones who know cricketing situations in and out, and are capable of motivating the others as well.

Mr. Dependable Rahul Dravid, one of the key players in Indian team, is the man expected to lead from the front. A docile and humble captain, he is a batsman par excellence. His subdued aggression both as a batsman and leader will do Team India a world of good in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 in West Indies.

Sachin Tendulkar, the Master Blaster, is undoubtedly amongst the legends, as far as batting is concerned. His experience as a batsman and his handy spinners rank him as one of the key players in Indian team for the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Anil Kumble, one of the best leg spinners in the world, had been out of one-dayers for some time. Despite being selected for the World Cup 2003 squad, he did not play a single match in South Africa then. However, after having bounced back, he is expected to keep the Indian flag flying high in the West Indies.

Indian crickets most controversial boy, Sourav Ganguly is back with a bang after a hiatus of more than ten months. In West Indies, he will be more than eager to justify the selectors faith in him.

Amongst the youngsters who can be key players in the Indian team are wicketkeeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni, all-rounders Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan, and pacer S. Sreesanth. With age and zestfulness on their side, these Men in Blue are all set fire all cylinders in ICC Cricket World Cup 2007.

The following is the Indian Squad for World Cup :

Rahul Dravid (Captain)
Sachin Tendulkar (Vice Captain)
Sourav Ganguly
Virender Sehwag
Robin Uthappa
Yuvraj Singh
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wk)
Dinesh Karthik (Wk)
Anil Kumble
Harbhajan Singh
Irfan Pathan
Zaheer Khan
Ajit Agarkar
Munaf Patel
S. Sreesanth


Please support us in this cause to motivate our boys 'Men in blue' to get the honour back to India that was brought by their Predecessors...Way back in 1983!

Please express your support by signing in the online petition.........!

One of the Billion Honourable & Patriotic Citizen,

Aditya Tikoo

Sign The Petition


If you already have an account please sign in, otherwise register an account for free then sign the petition filling the fields below.
Email and the password will be your account data, you will be able to sign other petitions after logging in.

Privacy in the search engines? You can use a nickname:

Attention, the email address you supply must be valid in order to validate the signature, otherwise it will be deleted.

I confirm registration and I agree to Usage and Limitations of Services

I confirm that I have read the Privacy Policy

I agree to the Personal Data Processing


Who signed this petition saw these petitions too:

Sign The Petition


If you already have an account please sign in


I confirm registration and I agree to Usage and Limitations of Services

I confirm that I have read the Privacy Policy

I agree to the Personal Data Processing

0 / 50

Latest Signatures

No one has signed this petition yet

Kristin MathisBy:
Justice, rights and public orderIn:
Petition target:
BCCI - Board of Control for Cricket in India


No tags


Invite friends from your address book

Embed Codes

direct link

link for html

link for forum without title

link for forum with title